Dolce and Gabriella

Little thoughts from the Big Apple

Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy

7 Comments

Since moving to California I’ve become obsessed with flavored water (which Californians call, in typical California style, “spa water.”) USC even sets it out in the dining hall. It’s as fun to drink as juice or soda with none of the sugar, and it has the health benefits of regular water. I get really bad headaches when I’m dehydrated, but water gets boring after a while…when that happens to you, make like a Californian and stick some fruit in it!

I usually just put some lemon slices in my water bottle and call it a day, but after seeing several pins on Pinterest about lemon-cucumber-mint water, I decided to give it a shot. See what I did here on Steller:

https://steller.co/stories/296209253574641387

Screen Shot 2014-07-17 at 9.44.27 AM

 

For a gallon of water, this pin suggests slicing up three lemons (I only did two) and half a cucumber. Put them in a pitcher with some fresh mint leaves (found in the produce section by the rest of the herbs for around $2 per bundle) and fill it to the top with water. Cover and let the water steep in the fridge overnight…then enjoy a big glass of supercharged H2O in the morning!

All three add-ins are really good for you, too. Lemons contain antioxidants and Vitamin C, and they help flush excess fluids out of your body, i.e. water weight. Cucumbers are great for hydration–that’s why people put them on their eyes–and are full of vitamin C, vitamin K, and potassium. And mint aids in digestion and can also help with nausea (I drink mint tea when I’m feeling sick.)

Drinking a big glass of water first thing in the morning is a really easy way to feel healthy and energized for the day ahead. Especially because I’m not always good about drinking as much water as I need to, a burst of hydration in the morning feels great for hours after. Play around with what you put in–some of my other favorites are strawberries, oranges, and pineapple.

 

What’s your super-easy health secret? I want to know!

7 thoughts on “Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy

  1. I have been obsessed with fruit water for two years at least now! It is amazing and I highly recommend you try everything you see and all the crazy options there are. Also – find out the benefits fruity water has for you 🙂

    Brigita,
    http://www.lostinpattern.com/

  2. Hi,
    This sounds so refreshing. I do like drinking water; however, like you said it can get boring after awhile. I have tried adding fresh pomegranate seeds into water and it comes out almost like an iced tea, as the juice mixes with the water.
    I will definitely give your suggestions a try. It is currently winter here in Australia, but that doesn’t stop me from enjoying fruit infused water.
    Kind regards
    Aimee 🙂
    from http://www.laughinggalah.com

    • Hi Aimee!

      Wow, pomegranate seeds in water is a great idea. I’ll have to give that a try! Do they turn the water a pretty pomegranate color, too?

      And I totally agree–infused water is a great way to stay hydrated year round. If it’s chilly, hot lemon water with honey is soothing and healthy, too!

      Have a wonderful Sunday!

Leave a Reply

