Dolce and Gabriella

Little thoughts from the Big Apple

Quick fixes

10 Comments

Do you have certain combinations that you turn to again and again when getting dressed? I definitely do. My go-to errand-running outfit is a men’s sweatshirt (likely stolen from my man, otherwise thrifted) paired with cutoffs and some sandals. Did I mention I took these photos by duct taping my iPhone to the wall? Girl needs a tripod.



photo2Hanes sweatshirt, Forever 21 cutoffs (similar here), Blowfish sandals (similar here), thrifted IIIBeca West Broadway satchel (on sale at Gilt right now)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Half up/half down is the style I turn to when I haven’t brushed my hair in a while. I gather hair from the front into a little ponytail, twist the ponytail a couple times, and secure the twist with a bobby pin.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

This time I also threw in three colored bobby pins. I’ve seen them all over Pinterest lately and decided to make my own by painting the flat side of bobby pins with nail polish–this is Tart Deco by Essie.

It took me approximately eight minutes total to get ready today. I love having go-to pieces and beauty tricks that make it easy to get out the door. What are your five-minute fixes?

Linked up with Style Elixir

10 thoughts on “Quick fixes

  1. Oh heck yes I have a go-to outfit! Its usually a pair of jeans, a slouchy jumper and some Converse. Hair in a bun is always a winner!

  2. Love it!!! Your hair looks amazing; I can’t believe you did it that fast! Super jealous of your skills!!
    xo,
    Grace
    styleartandgrace.blogspot.com

  3. I would love to be able to do a quick up-do like this. Sometimes it can me hours to do my hair!

  4. Super cute looks – wish my hair would do that!

    xo, Katie

    http://www.a-touch-of-teal.com

    • Hi Katie! Thanks for saying hi. I bet your hair would–it’s seriously the easiest thing ever. Just twist and pin 🙂

      I’m totally in love with your blog…you gained a new follower right here!

      Love, Gigi

  5. Lol at the duct taping your phone to take these. Crafty. My five minute fix is probably to throw on some loose dress and some birkenstocks/ converse. But cut offs + a comfy top, like you’re wearing, come in a close second. Also, I’m totally going to try that painted bobby pin thing now.

    Mili

    • Hi Mili. Okay, yeah, not the most elegant solution, but it works 😉 I live in cutoffs year round, but I love comfy dresses too–they feel much more put-together! Let me know how your bobby pin experiment goes.

Leave a Reply

