Dolce and Gabriella

Little thoughts from the Big Apple

First day

7 Comments

Well chickadees, it’s finally here.

I’ve bid goodbye to break for good. Back to the grind. I’m looking for the silver linings:

Dark cloud: I woke up at 7 a.m. today.

Silver lining: somehow, I still got almost eight hours of sleep. And I don’t have to be on campus until 10 tomorrow, so I’ll survive at least until Wednesday.

Dark cloud: I’m in twenty units of classes this semester. I was in the art building today from 9 to 5 with exactly zero breaks.

Silver lining: those twenty units are pretty interesting. Design classes, journalism, art theory…it’s all pretty cool. Fingers crossed I can manage it.

Dark cloud: I was peer-pressured into wearing something other than yoga pants today.

Silver lining: at least it was my favorite pair of shorts.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Hand-me-down shorts from best friend’s mom, J. Crew Factory shirt, thrifted IIIBeca by Joy Gryson bag, Sam Edelman “Sabrina” wedges, J. Crew Factory sunglasses

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Savoring the end-of-summer pedicure I treated myself to last week. This shade of purple reminds me of a pair of beloved clogs I had as a kid–instant mood boost. And the Sabrina wedges are super comfortable…highly recommend for an affordable, versatile sandal with a relatively low heel.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

In love with my Everlane backpack in Sand.

If you too went back to school today, my condolences. Labor Day can’t come soon enough. But we might as well enjoy the week; here’s a video to put you in the right mindset for Day 2.

 

What’d you wear on your first day?

7 thoughts on “First day

  1. You look so lovely!
    My general first day back outfit is generally jeans, a blazer and boots. I somehow always end up at the pub after!

    Rachael at broomfie.blogspot.com

  2. I seriously miss studying on campus! I study online so I don’t get to drink in the atmosphere that you get from being in classes with other students. Instead, I get Andrew bugging me every half an hour because he’s bored or hungry. Sacrificies, right?! Enjoy it for me x

  3. Happy happy first day back dearest! I have to say, since I’ve started working, I miss the first day of school. Once you’re out of school semesters, seasons really run together. Great back to school outfit too! Comfy, casual, but still shows off your style.

    ♥ perfectly Priya

Leave a Reply

